On “boring” testimonies

From time to time I run across people who do something I find pretty strange – they apologize or seem in some way embarrassed or ashamed by their simple, boring, not exciting personal testimony. They were saved young, attended church their whole life, haven’t committed any really awful sins, and just live the Christian life in a quiet way. And they seem to think there is something wrong with that, that somehow a testimony isn’t worth much if it doesn’t include stories of deep pain, horrible darkness, and shameful sin.

If you are one of these people, please listen to me. I have an interesting, exciting – or, as I prefer to call it, harrowing – testimony. I am proof that Jesus can save anyone, no matter how far they’ve wandered or how hard they’ve warred with God.

And I love the “boring” testimonies. Can’t get enough of them.

You see, I have children. My greatest prayer as a mother is that all my children would someday come to Christ. However, my second greatest prayer for them is that God would keep them from the path that I have walked. Obviously, God’s will for them is better than what I want, but I regularly ask that he would see fit to allow them to walk with him from a young age and not get too deeply entangled in the kind of sin and depravity that I’ve seen.

That’s why I love to hear the so-called boring testimonies. I love to listen to people talk about how Jesus took their hand when they were young and has never allowed them to stumble too far away from him. I get excited to hear stories that don’t involve huge amounts of grievous sin and Damascus moments. Those testimonies are wonderful, too, and I rejoice whenever I hear someone talk about how Jesus rescued them, but they don’t give me the kind of hope for my children that the simpler ones do.

So please, keep telling your simple testimony and don’t apologize for it. You never know who may need to hear it.

Leave a Reply

