Summer Reading

Life got crazy around the Calvinist house for a while, and I have been badly neglecting my blog. Between homeschool conferences, family changes, and regular life I haven’t had much time for blogging – which is sad to say on a pretty much brand new blog.

Anyway, I wanted to take a moment to post a list of books I’m hoping to get through this summer. Here it is:
Some of these are books I’ve almost finished (KJO Controversy, Intolerance of Tolerance), some are books that I’m re-reading (Amazing Back into Grace, Raised with Christ), one is a book on economics (Incredible Bread Machine), but the rest are books I’ve never read. I’m planning to post book reviews as I finish them.
On my Kindle (aka books I read when I’m waiting in line or waiting rooms):
  • Simply Jesus by N. T. Wright
  • The Scriptures Testify About Me by D. A. Carson
  • Anxious for Nothing by John MacArthur
  • Alone with God by John MacArthur
  • How People Change by Timothy S. Lane and Paul David Tripp
  • Putting Jesus in His Place by Robert Bowman, J. Ed Komoszewski and Darrell L. Bock
  • Freedom of the Will by Jonathan Edwards
  • The Doctrine of Justification by James Buchanan
  • The Truest Thing About You by David Lomas, D. R. Jacobsen and Francis Chan
  • Gospel Deeps by Jared Wilson
  • Shame Interrupted by Edward T. Welch
  • Heretics by G. K Chesterton
  • Christless Christianity by Michael Horton
  • The Bruised Reed by Richard Sibbes
  • On the Incarnation by Athanasius
What’s on your reading list? Any book recommendations for me?
One thought on “Summer Reading

  1. Great list, One of the best books you’ll get dealing with the Doctrine of Justification and the various controversies surrounding it is “Pierced For Our Transgressions.” It’s a Phenomenal book. It presents the various arguments against penal substation as well as answers to them historically, theologically, and biblically. :^)

Leave a Reply

